Standardized Testing Information

Test Dates & Information

ABOUT TESTING  You will not necessarily have to take the SAT or ACT since many colleges continue to place less value on these tests. Pre-covid, I would tell juniors to take the SAT/ACT during their spring semester. However, testing is becoming non-essential. The UCs & CSUs will not use them at all. Colleges have plenty of information to evaluate your application without a test score. Plan and prepare to test only if you (the student) think it will add value to your application. If you are feeling anxious about testing and studying for it, then it is not adding value. Use this time to explore colleges (most will remain test-optional except for schools in Florida or Georgia) and focus your energy on how you will write about yourself in the essay prompts or Personal Insight Questions. 
 

PSAT

College Board logo

PSAT test opportunity for current 11th graders

Interested in taking the PSAT in January?  Prospect HS is offering the PSAT on Tuesday, January 26, 2021. Since this will be an onsite event at Prospect HS, the testing will be held under strict COVID safety protocols. Students will need to complete this Parental Opt-In Form to gain access to the campus. The cost of the exam is $17. If interested, please click here to go to the student store and submit payment (or pay by check at the main office).  11th graders who need financial assistance, please contact Mr. Mann via email. The deadline is January 15, 2021.

 

 

FREE RESOURCE Join Kaplan's PSAT Prep Live. Free live lessons start October 12. Stream must-know math, reading, and writing strategies with teachers, Boris and Stephanie. Save your seat.

 

PSAT Study Guide

 

Students who want to apply to 4-year colleges should take at least one of the nationally recognized standardized tests called the ACT or SAT? Taking the PSAT will give you an idea of how you will perform on the SAT or ACT. Plus, CollegeBoard provides a breakdown of a student's results so that you can better prepare for the SAT or ACT.

 

 

SAT & ACT TESTING REQUIREMENTS

CSU:

**TEST BLIND for Class of 2023**

UC:

**TEST BLIND for Class of 2023**

 

 

For SAT information & register online at www.collegeboard.com

For ACTs information & register online at www.actstudent.org

 

NOTE:

  • All SAT/ACT: tests must be completed by December senior year for most other college admissions. 
  • PSAT: for sophomores & juniors is in October  

Additional Information:

  • Still focus on academics! Grades do count senior year.

  • Pay attention to the deadlines for all applications (admissions, housing, financial aid, scholarships etc...)

  • If testing, be sure to send your SAT, SAT Subject test and/or ACT scores to the colleges you're applying to:

  • Many schools allow you to self-report your test scores. Know which schools allow you to self-report will save you money. All schools will ask for test score upon admittance.
 

ACT vs. SAT: How to Decide Which Test to Take  

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

125 SAT Tips: https://www.conqueryourexam.com/sat-tips/

125 ACT Tips: https://www.conqueryourexam.com/act-tips/

23 ADHD Study Tips and Test Taking Strategies: https://www.conqueryourexam.com/adhd-study-tips/

Multiple Choice Test Taking Strategies: The Ultimate Guide:https://www.conqueryourexam.com/multiple-choice-test-taking-strategies/

51 Time Management Tips for Students:https://www.conqueryourexam.com/time-management-tips-for-students/

Why is a College Degree Important?:https://www.conqueryourexam.com/why-is-a-college-degree-important/

29 Tips on What to Eat Before a Test: https://www.conqueryourexam.com/what-to-eat-before-a-test/

The 75 Best Educational Websites for High School Students: https://www.conqueryourexam.com/best-educational-high-school-websites/

How to Survive High Schoolhttps://www.conqueryourexam.com/how-to-survive-high-school/

How to prepare for ACT

ACT Courses with Free Practice Test Questions